Society of Mary

Marist Fathers and Brothers

  • Home

Home » Who we are » History



1790 Birth of Jean-Claude Colin, Saint-Bonnet-Le-Troncy, central France.
1812 The first inspiration to found the Society of Mary given toJean-ClaudeCourveille at the Marian Sanctuary of Le Puy in Velay, France..
1816 On July 23, in the chapel of Our Lady at Fourviere, Lyons, a pledge is made by young priests and seminarians to found a society of Mary.
Jean-Claude Colin, curate to his brother in the parish of Cerdon begins to write a rule for a Society of Mary.
1824 The first community of four priests is formed to preach missions in theBugey district.
This period also sees the beginnings of the Marist Sisters, Marist Brothers and lay groups.
1830 Fr Colin is elected the superior of the group of priests and seeks Rome’s approval for his foundation.
1836 In January, Pope Gregory XVI confides the missions of Western Oceania in the South Pacific to the new group of Marist fathers.
Pope Gregory XVI approves the Society of Mary in April.
On September 24, the first twenty Marists, including Marcellin Champagnat, make the religious profession and elect Jen-Claude Colin as the first Superior General.
On Christmas Eve, the first group of Marist missionaries, including Bishop Battailon and Peter Chanel, leave for the missions in the South Pacific.
1840 Death of Marcellin Champagnat.
1841 Peter Chanel is martyred on April 28.
1854 Fr Colin resigns as Superior General, succeeded by Fr Julien Favre.
1861 First foundation in Ireland
1863 First foundation in USA.
1873 The definitive rule for the Society, written by the Founder, is approved.
1875 Death of Jean-Claude Colin, November 15.
1880 Anti-religious decrees in France lead to the formation house being set up in other parts of Europe.
1886 First foundation in Rome.
1887 Foundation in Differt.
1889 Beatification of Peter Chanel
Establishment of the Provinces of England & Ireland, New Zealand and America.
1898 Establishment of the Province of Oceania.
1900 First foundation in Germany.
1902 Expulsion of religious from France leads to the second dispersal of communities of French Marists, including the General Administration.
1911 Persecution of the Church in Mexico until 1914; Marists are expelled.
1931 Approval of the Missionary Sisters of the Society of Mary as a religious congregation.
1914-18 The First World War.
1923 Erection of the Province of Germany.
1924 Erection of the Provinces of Washington and Boston.
1925 The translation of the General Administration to Monteverde, Rome.
1929 First foundation in Canada.
1936-39 Spanish Civil War, 10 Marist fathers killed in odium fidei, as well as many other priests and religious including many Marist Brothers.
1938 Erection of the Province of Australia.
1939-45 The Second World War - Many Marists are killed or made prisoners of war.
1947 Erection of the Province of Netherlands.
1948 First foundation in Africa.
1949 First foundation in Japan.
1950 First foundation in Peru.
1952 England and Ireland become separated Provinces.
1954 The canonization of St Peter Chanel.
1959 Erection of the Province of Spain.
1961 Erection of the Province of Mexico.
1962 Erection of the Province of San Francisco.
1962-65 The Second Vatican Council takes place bringing renewal and change to the universal Church.
1965 In October 1965, the Second Vatican Council makes a call for renewal of religious life.
Erection of the Province of Canada.
1969 General Chapter of Renewal, Rome.
1976 Formation of the one Province of France.
1978 Marist foundation in Pakistan (until 1983).
1981 Erection of the mission districts of Brazil and Philippines.
1985 General Chapter completes the new Constitutions of the Society of Mary.
1987 Approval of the new Constitutions by the Holy See.
1989 Erection of the mission district of Africa.
1990 Erection of the mission district of Peru-Venezuela.
1999 Pope John Paul II proclaims Marcellin Champagnat a saint.
2008 The provinces of Europe combine to form one Province.
2009 The provinces of Atlanta and Boston unite to form the Province of the United States of America.

The first international novitiate in Davao, Philippines.

2012 The first international Theologate in Rome, Italy.